Oliver Wang http://publicradioeast.org en Unheard Bounty On Mobb Deep's First Album In Eight Years http://publicradioeast.org/post/unheard-bounty-mobb-deeps-first-album-eight-years Under most circumstances, the release of a new Mobb Deep album would be notable in and of itself. Mon, 05 May 2014 19:06:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 40616 at http://publicradioeast.org Unheard Bounty On Mobb Deep's First Album In Eight Years Gimme The Beat (Box): The Journey Of The Drum Machine http://publicradioeast.org/post/gimme-beat-box-journey-drum-machine About 10 years ago, a disgruntled pianist in Los Angeles named John Wood began a popular bumper sticker campaign with the slogan, "Drum Machines Have No Soul." Not everyone was convinced, including producer Eric Sadler.<p>"Drum machines don't run themselves," Sadler says. "It's the people who put into the drum machines that give the drum machines soul, to me. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 05:02:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 32220 at http://publicradioeast.org Gimme The Beat (Box): The Journey Of The Drum Machine 20 Years Ago, De La Soul Refused To Go Pop http://publicradioeast.org/post/20-years-ago-de-la-soul-refused-go-pop <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1B1-naHt1aA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJEzEDMqXQQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r774KpYtso</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Svw1b--jKCE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udSjNOZ26o8</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 05:03:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 30875 at http://publicradioeast.org 20 Years Ago, De La Soul Refused To Go Pop Kanye's 'Yeezus' Packs A Bite http://publicradioeast.org/post/kanyes-yeezus-packs-bite <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuhl6Ji5zHM</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:25:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 16719 at http://publicradioeast.org Kanye's 'Yeezus' Packs A Bite Shuggie Otis: 40 Years Later, Still An 'Inspiration' http://publicradioeast.org/post/shuggie-otis-40-years-later-still-inspiration This isn't the first time Shuggie Otis' masterpiece, <em>Inspiration Information</em>,<em> </em>has been reissued — but that's OK. It's an album that absolutely deserves to be rediscovered every decade or so.<p>Released nearly 40 years ago, the album became Otis' most acclaimed work, and also his last official release: Otis continued to work and play with other musicians, but a follow-up album has never materialized. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 20:52:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 15632 at http://publicradioeast.org Shuggie Otis: 40 Years Later, Still An 'Inspiration' Laura Mvula's Velvet 'Moon' Is A Revelation http://publicradioeast.org/post/laura-mvulas-velvet-moon-revelation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5akYnlwubDo</p> Wed, 15 May 2013 19:41:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 14118 at http://publicradioeast.org Laura Mvula's Velvet 'Moon' Is A Revelation On Two New R&B Albums, An Old Soul Sound That Glows http://publicradioeast.org/post/two-new-rb-albums-old-soul-sound-glows It's tempting to describe the voices of <a href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CDEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Fartists%2F175953068%2Fcharles-bradley&ei=hKGKUcPSDoHS0wGysYHIBg&usg=AFQjCNEFFZh9Evg82Y5_BRqDD--JgZLDLg&sig2=LecmfRom7iKxHytW80GH0Q&bvm=bv.46226182,d.dmQ" target="_blank">Charles Bradley</a> and <a href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Fartists%2F15006878%2Fjames-hunter&ei=m6GKUc_CCYnp0gHn8oHQBQ&usg=AFQjCNE5dgsPqdHWo9sp3ARLmhjoNq6wCA&sig2=75gruGzqgBcQ Wed, 08 May 2013 19:57:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 13570 at http://publicradioeast.org On Two New R&B Albums, An Old Soul Sound That Glows 20 Years Ago Biz Markie Got The Last Laugh http://publicradioeast.org/post/20-years-ago-biz-markie-got-last-laugh <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OebqNsNRBtU</p> Mon, 06 May 2013 16:59:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 13363 at http://publicradioeast.org 20 Years Ago Biz Markie Got The Last Laugh Lady: Two Soul Stalwarts Find A New Groove Together http://publicradioeast.org/post/lady-two-soul-stalwarts-find-new-groove-together R&B singers Nicole Wray and Terri Walker both had promising starts to their careers more than ten years ago. Wray came up on the Virginia coast under the wing of mentor <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15622987/missy-elliott" target="_blank">Missy Elliott</a>. Walker, a Londoner, was classically trained yet released her debut on a Def Jam subsidiary. Both enjoyed early critical success but by decade's end struggled to find a wide audience. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 9441 at http://publicradioeast.org Lady: Two Soul Stalwarts Find A New Groove Together The Purple Tape: Only Built 4 Collectors http://publicradioeast.org/post/purple-tape-only-built-4-collectors <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15229570" target="_blank">The Beatles</a> had "The White Album." <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15394157" target="_blank">Prince</a>'s long-time work-in-progress became dubbed "The Black Album." Rapper Raekwon had "The Purple Tape," one the most storied cassettes in hip-hop history.<p>The Purple Tape refers to purple-tinted cassette pressings of Raekwon's 1995 solo debut, <em>Only Built 4 Cuban Linx... Thu, 20 Sep 2012 15:00:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 1815 at http://publicradioeast.org The Purple Tape: Only Built 4 Collectors Two Attempts To Turn Summer Platinum Into Fall Gold http://publicradioeast.org/post/two-attempts-turn-summer-platinum-fall-gold <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWNaR-rxAic</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Dqgr0wNyPo</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 18:58:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 1640 at http://publicradioeast.org Two Attempts To Turn Summer Platinum Into Fall Gold