Morning Edition on The News And Ideas Network http://publicradioeast.org en Duke Bourbon Raises Challenge From University http://publicradioeast.org/post/duke-bourbon-raises-challenge-university The estate of actor John Wayne, who was known as the Duke, wants to sell a brand of bourbon with his likeness. Duke University says the bourbon would tarnish the Duke name. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 46004 at http://publicradioeast.org Fake Edward Snowden Joins Tinder http://publicradioeast.org/post/fake-edward-snowden-joins-tinder The popular dating app Tinder has a new user: Edward Snowden. Actually, just the username Lonely Ed with the profile picture of the NSA leaker looking for love from Moscow. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 46006 at http://publicradioeast.org 'Breaking Bad' Expected To Get Emmy Nod For Final Season http://publicradioeast.org/post/breaking-bad-expected-get-emmy-nod-final-season Nominations for the 2014 Emmy Awards are announced in Hollywood Thursday. The big category this year is expected to be drama with shows like True Detective, Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones and Fargo. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:06:00 +0000 Kim Masters 46001 at http://publicradioeast.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide http://publicradioeast.org/post/chinas-booming-real-estate-market-finally-begins-slide After years of stunning growth, China's go-go real estate market is now in retreat.<p>Prices fell last month in 79 out of 100 cities, according to the China Real Estate Index run by SouFun Holdings, a real estate website. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 46000 at http://publicradioeast.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide University Of Michigan Plant Is Definitely A Late Bloomer http://publicradioeast.org/post/university-michigan-plant-definitely-late-bloomer A botanist at the University of Michigan describes a plant that is blooming at the arboretum there for the first time in 80 years. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 45991 at http://publicradioeast.org FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims, Report Says http://publicradioeast.org/post/fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims-report-says The latest revelation from Edward Snowden's NSA trove is a story that appeared in the online publication The Intercept. Five prominent Muslim citizens say they were spied on because they're Muslims. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 David Welna 45992 at http://publicradioeast.org Detroit Shuts Off Water As It Tries To Collect Millions Owed http://publicradioeast.org/post/detroit-shuts-water-it-tries-collect-millions-overdue-bills This year, 17,000 customers have had their water shut off because of late payments. Residents are upset with how the city is going about it, and question whether some are getting special treatment. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Sarah Cwiek 45993 at http://publicradioeast.org Rejoice! Chocodiles Are Back http://publicradioeast.org/post/last-word-business-333 For years, the chocolate-covered Twinkies were only available in selected markets. In June, the company got a new CEO, and this week Hostess announced the return of the Chocodile. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 45996 at http://publicradioeast.org J.K. Rowling Posts New Harry Potter Short Story http://publicradioeast.org/post/jk-rowling-posts-new-harry-potter-short-story Harry Potter is attending the Quidditch World Cup with his family, as well as Ron and Hermione. He is in his 30s, with "a couple of threads of silver" in his hair and a mysterious cut on his cheek. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:58:00 +0000 editor 45907 at http://publicradioeast.org iPhone From Oklahoma Ends Up In Grain Shipment To Japan http://publicradioeast.org/post/iphone-oklahoma-ends-grain-shipment-japan A Japanese worker found the phone and tracked down the American owner. Farmer Kevin Whitney recovered the phone, which had pictures of his daughter's wedding on it. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:50:00 +0000 editor 45908 at http://publicradioeast.org Afghan Civilians Suffer During Violent Year http://publicradioeast.org/post/afghan-civilians-suffer-during-violent-year There is renewed fighting in Kandahar as the outcome of the Afghan presidential election remains uncertain. And a new U.N. report says civilian casualties are up significantly from a year ago. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 45892 at http://publicradioeast.org Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://publicradioeast.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 45893 at http://publicradioeast.org Cleveland, A Democratic Stronghold, Wins GOP Convention http://publicradioeast.org/post/cleveland-democratic-stronghold-wins-gop-convention Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. We do not know which Republican will accept the nomination for president in 2016. We do know where.<p>MONTAGNE: Cleveland is celebrating that honor. Republicans chose it over Dallas.<p>INSKEEP: Maybe Cleveland just won because it's in the swing state of Ohio, but however it happened, the city takes it as a sign of a comeback. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 45894 at http://publicradioeast.org Self-Described Optimist Taylor Swift On The Future Of Music http://publicradioeast.org/post/self-described-optimist-taylor-swift-future-music Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>We're going to profile the musician Sia in a moment. But first we have a little music economics courtesy of Taylor Swift. The pop superstar wrote an op-ed for The Wall Street Journal yesterday about the future of the music industry.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>She's optimistic, despite the industry's tumultuous business landscape. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:51:00 +0000 editor 45833 at http://publicradioeast.org London Netflix Office Searches For Qualified Couch Potato http://publicradioeast.org/post/london-netflix-office-searches-qualified-couch-potato Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. A new study of traffic congestion finds, in the U.S., Honolulu has the worst, followed by Los Angeles. In Europe, Londoners spend more than 83 hours a year in traffic.<p>But one lucky person could cut that down dramatically. The London Netflix office is hiring a tagger - someone to watch Netflix titles and categorize them as drama or cult sports movies - a job involving a commute to the couch. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:53:00 +0000 editor 45820 at http://publicradioeast.org Buddhist Monks Face Jail Time For July 4 Fireworks Display http://publicradioeast.org/post/buddhist-monks-face-jail-time-july-4-fireworks-display Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep with continuing coverage of last week's fireworks. Albuquerque authorities discovered an unauthorized fireworks show. The city had imposed restrictions because of fire danger. The perpetrators at least have the best excuse ever. The show was at a Buddhist temple. Buddhist monks say they didn't know of the fireworks ban since they do not watch TV, listen to the radio or read the news. They still face possible fines or jail. Ignorance is not innocence. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:35:00 +0000 editor 45821 at http://publicradioeast.org For Brazilians, Game-Day Rituals Lead To Sense Of Community http://publicradioeast.org/post/brazilians-game-day-rituals-lead-sense-community Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Brazil faces Germany today in the semi-finals of the World Cup.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Deep into the tournament, Brazilian fans have developed a game day routine.<p>INSKEEP: So we present to you now, with NPR's Lourdes Garcia-Navarro in Sao Paulo, Brazil's World Cup ritual in four acts.<p>MONTAGNE: Act one - getting to the game.<p>GARCIA-NAVARRO: I am in a car right now doing what pretty much every single other Brazilian is doing, which is trying to get to where they're going to see the latest Brazil game. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 45808 at http://publicradioeast.org Goods Sold In Cuban Shops Often Come From Florida Stores http://publicradioeast.org/post/goods-sold-cuban-shops-often-come-florida-stores Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>In recent weeks we've been reporting on changes in Cuba. One is Cuba's small but growing private sector. The government is letting entrepreneurs open their own businesses, which leaves many trying to find the goods their customers want. The U.S. trade embargo means you can't just order from a distributor in Florida. But Cubans can still get U.S. goods. NPR's Greg Allen visited stores in the Miami suburb of Hialeah.<p>GREG ALLEN, BYLINE: On the map, it's right next to Miami. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Greg Allen 45809 at http://publicradioeast.org Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://publicradioeast.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 45811 at http://publicradioeast.org First Trial Begins For A Friend Of Marathon Bombing Suspect http://publicradioeast.org/post/first-trial-begins-friend-marathon-bombing-suspect Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The first trial connected to the Boston Marathon bombing is underway. The defendant is not the surviving suspected bomber, Dzhokhar Tsarnaev. It's Tsarnaev's friend - a 20-year-old from Kazakhstan who is accused of obstruction of justice. NPR's Tovia Smith reports.<p>TOVIA SMITH, BYLINE: As prosecutors tell it, Azamat Tazhayakov and his roommates saw photos of the alleged bombers and immediately recognized them. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Tovia Smith 45812 at http://publicradioeast.org