Julie Rose http://publicradioeast.org en N.C. Tries To Make Amends For Forced Sterilizations http://publicradioeast.org/post/nc-tries-make-amends-forced-sterilizations Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>You're listening to ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News.<p>In the early 1900s, more than half of the states in the U.S. passed laws allowing people to be sterilized against their will. North Carolina's eugenics program was particularly aggressive. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 21:43:00 +0000 Julie Rose 19546 at http://publicradioeast.org Transportation Nominee A Loyal Foot Soldier For Obama http://publicradioeast.org/post/transportation-nominee-loyal-foot-soldier-obama Charlotte Mayor Anthony Foxx has been nominated to head the U.S. Department of Transportation in President Obama's final term. What the soon-to-be 42-year old mayor lacks in transportation credentials, he makes up for in loyalty to the President and a shared vision of the need for better transit systems. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 21:00:00 +0000 Julie Rose 12860 at http://publicradioeast.org Insurance Industry Lab Creates Indoor Hailstorm http://publicradioeast.org/post/insurance-industry-lab-creates-indoor-hailstorm Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Bad weather can mean big losses for homeowners and insurance companies. So recently, the insurance industry built a laboratory in rural Richburg, South Carolina in hopes of developing more weather-resistant buildings. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 10:38:00 +0000 Julie Rose 8005 at http://publicradioeast.org Cold War Bunker Network Repurposed For 21st Century Threats http://publicradioeast.org/post/cold-war-bunker-network-repurposed-21st-century-threats There's an underground bunker at a radio station in Charlotte, N.C., where time has stopped. Built decades ago to provide safety and vital communications in the event of a nuclear attack, it's now a perfectly preserved relic of Cold War fear that's gained new relevance.<p>The secret bunker is part of the office lore that old-timers at WBT Radio whisper to the newbies. That's how radio host Mike Collins learned of it back in the 1980s.<p>"I remember being amazed that it would really exist," Collins says, laughing. Tue, 19 Feb 2013 21:09:00 +0000 Julie Rose 7624 at http://publicradioeast.org Cold War Bunker Network Repurposed For 21st Century Threats Mug Shot Time? Wipe That Smile Off Your Face http://publicradioeast.org/post/mug-shot-time-wipe-smile-your-face In one North Carolina county, mugging too much for a mug shot can get you locked in a cell indefinitely.<p>First off, though, why would you smile for a mug shot? Thumb through those publications like <em>The</em> <em>Slammer</em> magazine filled with nothing but mug shots and you can find entire sections of people grinning it up.<p>In<strong> </strong>Scottie Wingfield's case, she meant to get arrested at an Occupy Charlotte protest — a planned civil disobedience. Cracking a huge grin in her mug shot was a way of extending that protest. Mon, 22 Oct 2012 20:24:00 +0000 Julie Rose 4262 at http://publicradioeast.org Mug Shot Time? Wipe That Smile Off Your Face Bank Of America Improves Foreclosure Image http://publicradioeast.org/post/bank-america-improves-foreclosure-image Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Bank of America will release quarterly earnings tomorrow and once again, foreclosures will be part of the equation. Tue, 16 Oct 2012 08:52:00 +0000 Julie Rose 3749 at http://publicradioeast.org