economy http://publicradioeast.org en Dredging Debris Could Be Placed On Shackleford Banks http://publicradioeast.org/post/dredging-debris-could-be-placed-shackleford-banks <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>This week on the Down East Journal, groups are at odds over the plan to relocate dredging material from Beaufort Inlet to Shackleford Banks.&nbsp; Would the move impact tourism or help preserve Shackleford’s shoreline from erosion?</p><p></p> Fri, 17 Jan 2014 17:25:35 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 32260 at http://publicradioeast.org Dredging Debris Could Be Placed On Shackleford Banks Highway 17 Bypass Projects in Jones County Set for 2015 http://publicradioeast.org/post/highway-17-bypass-projects-jones-county-set-2015 <p>It may still be years away, but a long-awaited road work in Jones County finally gets the green light to move forward. &nbsp;Jared Brumbaugh has more.</p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 18:48:56 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 29497 at http://publicradioeast.org Proposed Fumigation Facility Raises Concerns http://publicradioeast.org/post/proposed-fumigation-facility-raises-concerns <P>Methyl bromide gas is considered a hazardous air pollutant by the EPA.&nbsp; A fumigation facility proposed for the Morehead City port wants to use the chemical to treat lumber before export. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 12:56:08 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 20118 at http://publicradioeast.org Greenville Highway Project off to a Good Start http://publicradioeast.org/post/greenville-highway-project-good-start <p>Early development for a large-scale highway connector is making good progress, but is still years away from completion. Lee Jenkins has more.</p><p>The thirty-five million dollar 10<sup>th</sup> Street Connector Project is speeding through its acquisition phase. Development rights have been settled for two thirds of the 193 properties affected by the project, some of which are businesses and residences.</p><p>According to the Greenville Daily Reflector, workers have already begun demolishing vacant homes along Farmville Boulevard and other streets.</p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 18:03:33 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 19341 at http://publicradioeast.org DNA Processing Facility Planned for Greenville http://publicradioeast.org/post/dna-processing-facility-planned-greenville <p><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">A vacant property in Greenville could become a new DNA processing facility.&nbsp; Jared Brumbaugh has more.</strong></p><p></p> Wed, 24 Apr 2013 13:40:20 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 12458 at http://publicradioeast.org Kinston Charter School Faces Closure http://publicradioeast.org/post/kinston-charter-school-faces-closure <p>A charter school serving close to 200 students in an economically depressed area of Kinston is facing closure. &nbsp;The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction has recommended Children‘s Village Academy’s charter be revoked because of cash flow problems and increasing school debt.&nbsp; Find out what Children‘s Village Academy is doing to stay open.</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 13:22:35 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 12269 at http://publicradioeast.org Kinston Charter School Faces Closure The Down East Journal (04/19/13) http://publicradioeast.org/post/down-east-journal-041913 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A charter school serving close to 200 students in an economically depressed area of </span>Kinston<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is facing closure. &nbsp;The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction has recommended Children‘s Village Academy’s charter be revoked because of cash flow problems and increasing school debt.&nbsp; This week on the Down East Journal, find out what Children‘s Village Academy is doing to stay open. Tue, 16 Apr 2013 17:40:52 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 11837 at http://publicradioeast.org The Down East Journal (04/19/13) Sequestion Impacts on Eastern North Carolina http://publicradioeast.org/post/sequestion-impacts-eastern-north-carolina <p>Local governments, schools and military bases are bracing for the impacts of sequestration.&nbsp; We explore how the series of automatic cuts will impact eastern North Carolina.</p><p>The series of automatic cuts to government spending called sequestration will total more than a trillion dollars in savings over the next 10 years.&nbsp; The expenses of those savings is now beginning to ripple through our area, as L.C. Morris explains.</p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 18:19:45 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 10187 at http://publicradioeast.org Revitalization of Five Points in Downtown New Bern http://publicradioeast.org/post/revitalization-five-points-downtown-new-bern <p>Plans are being set to revitalize a depressed area of downtown New Bern called Five Points.&nbsp; The project would create local jobs, and attract new businesses to the area.</p> Mon, 25 Feb 2013 13:34:55 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 8017 at http://publicradioeast.org The Down East Journal (02/22/13) http://publicradioeast.org/post/down-east-journal-0222-2313 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This week on the <strong>Down East Journal</strong>, a Goldsboro development group tries a variation on the “flash mob” theme to try and boost the presence of downtown businesses.&nbsp; And, plans are being set to revitalize a depressed area of downtown New Bern. &nbsp;</span>The project would create local jobs and attract new businesses.&nbsp; More on the revitalization of Five Points, this week on the <strong>Down East Journal</strong>, Friday at noon on PRE, Public Radio East. Tue, 19 Feb 2013 17:47:29 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 7602 at http://publicradioeast.org The Down East Journal (02/22/13) New Governor Pat McCrory Visits ENC http://publicradioeast.org/post/new-governor-pat-mccrory-visits-enc <p>Less than a week after becoming the new governor of North Carolina, Pat McCrory visited New Bern to talk with constituents and cast his vision for North Carolina's future.</p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 20:33:59 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 7034 at http://publicradioeast.org New Governor Pat McCrory Visits ENC PART ONE: Migrant Farmworker Camps in ENC http://publicradioeast.org/post/part-one-migrant-farmworker-camps-enc <p><span><span class="sr-tease"><span>This week, we focus on a study that found a third of migrant farmworker camps in eastern North Carolina had contaminated drinking water.</span></span></span></p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 15:37:17 +0000 Jared Brumbaugh 6984 at http://publicradioeast.org