Kim Richey On Mountain Stage

Apr 17, 2013
Originally published on July 2, 2014 9:49 am

Singer-songwriter Kim Richey makes her fourth appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live at the Culture Center Theater in Charleston, W.Va. Richey first emerged in the early 1990s as part of the growing alt-country movement — and, as such, remained difficult to classify. Nevertheless, Richey's music didn't go unnoticed in Nashville: Many of her songs ended up recorded by mainstream heavyweights such as Trisha Yearwood and Brooks & Dunn.

Richey's fusion of pop, folk and roots music foretold a style of confessional country-pop that would later be popularized by superstars like Taylor Swift and Miranda Lambert. (Many Americana fans will recall Richey's harmony vocals in "Come Pick Me Up," from Ryan Adams' breakthrough album Heartbreaker.) Here, Richey draws mostly from 2010's Wreck Your Wheels, featuring contributions from Americana stalwarts Will Kimbrough and Mark Olson.

Set List

  • "Wreck Your Wheels"
  • "Careful How You Go"
  • "I'm Alright"
  • "Thorn In My Heart"
  • "Angel Share"
Copyright 2014 NPR. To see more, visit