Bob Mondello http://publicradioeast.org en Woody Allen's 'Fading Gigolo' Full Of Loneliness And Longing http://publicradioeast.org/post/woody-allens-fading-gigolo-full-loneliness-and-longing Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>Actor John Turturro is known for his work in films like "Quiz Show" and "The Big Lebowski." With his long face and hang-dog look, he's probably not what you'd call a matinee idol. But he went ahead and cast himself as the title character in his new movie, "Fading Gigolo." And he cast Woody Allen as his pimp. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 14:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 39363 at http://publicradioeast.org Loneliness And Longing — And Woody Allen — In 'Fading Gigolo' http://publicradioeast.org/post/loneliness-and-longing-and-woody-allen-fading-gigolo With his long face and hangdog appearance, actor John Turturro is no one's idea of a matinee idol — not even his own — so he raised a lot of eyebrows when he cast himself as the title character in <em>Fading Gigolo</em>. Even more when he cast Woody Allen as his pimp. So it may come as a relief when things don't go as wrong with what turns out to be a surprisingly sweet little dramedy as they might have.<p>The film begins in an Upper West Side rare books emporium with a going-out-of-business sign in its window. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 19:09:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 39257 at http://publicradioeast.org Loneliness And Longing — And Woody Allen — In 'Fading Gigolo' Mickey Rooney, All-American Boy For More Than 90 Years, Dies http://publicradioeast.org/post/mickey-rooney-all-american-boy-more-90-years-dies Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Mickey Rooney, who lived a long life on stage and screen, died last night at his home in Los Angeles. He was 93. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 38322 at http://publicradioeast.org Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground http://publicradioeast.org/post/send-out-doves-noah-lands-solid-ground The story of Noah's Ark is getting blockbuster treatment in Hollywood's new biblical epic <em>Noah</em>. Darren Aronofsky's film about the Old Testament shipbuilder has been sparking controversy — but there's no denying that the Great Flood, digitized, is a pretty great flood.<p>"In the beginning there was ... Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 37579 at http://publicradioeast.org Send Out The Doves: 'Noah' Lands On Solid Ground Addicted To Sex, But Not Really Having Much Fun http://publicradioeast.org/post/addicted-sex-not-really-having-much-fun Danish filmmaker Lars von Trier has found all sorts of ways to provoke moviegoers in the past — with metal spikes in <em>Antichrist</em>, by ignoring narrative conventions in <em>Dogville,</em> by presenting depression as the only reasonable reaction to the world as we know it — and then destroying that world — in <em>Melancholia.</em> And as if this last weren't enough, he told a Nazi joke to a crowd prepared to shower him with adulation at Cannes.<p>So it's reasonable to expect something decently outrageous, or perhaps indecently outrageous, from a four-hour opus called <em>Nymphomaniac</em> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 17:09:07 +0000 Bob Mondello 36997 at http://publicradioeast.org Addicted To Sex, But Not Really Having Much Fun Middle-Aged Souls Channel Teen Rebellion, Just For A 'Week-End' http://publicradioeast.org/post/middle-aged-souls-channel-teen-rebellion-just-week-end <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vB6508I35Mo</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 36380 at http://publicradioeast.org Middle-Aged Souls Channel Teen Rebellion, Just For A 'Week-End' Review: 'The Grand Budapest Hotel' http://publicradioeast.org/post/review-grand-budapest-hotel Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Filmmaker Wes Anderson makes movies that are eccentric, pointedly artificial and, to his fans, very funny. From his early comedies "Rushmore" and "The Royal Tannenbaums," to last year's Oscar-nominated "Moonrise Kingdom," Anderson's movies have looked and sounded different from everyone else's in Hollywood. And critic Bob Mondello says that streak continues with his spoof of extravagant 1930s melodramas. It's called "The Grand Budapest Hotel."<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: The hotel looks a bit like a pink wedding cake perched atop a Swiss Alp. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 35930 at http://publicradioeast.org Alain Resnais, Director And Master Of Disorientation, Dies At 91 http://publicradioeast.org/post/alain-resnais-director-and-master-disorientation-dies-91 Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The French filmmaker who shook up European cinema and offered inspiration to directors as varied as Woody Allen and David Lynch died on Saturday. Alain Resnais caused a sensation with his films "Hiroshima Mon Amour" and "Last Year at Marienbad" in the 1950s and '60s. Critic Bob Mondello offers an appreciation.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Memory, or rather how unreliable memory can be, fascinated Alain Resnais. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 35581 at http://publicradioeast.org One Conflict, One Wall, Two Sides Of The Arab-Israeli World http://publicradioeast.org/post/one-conflict-one-wall-two-sides-arab-israeli-world American art-house audiences are being offered an intriguing exercise in double vision over the next couple of weeks: two movies about Palestinian informants and their complicated relationships with Israel's secret service, one directed by a Palestinian, the other by an Israeli. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 23:58:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 34799 at http://publicradioeast.org One Conflict, One Wall, Two Sides Of The Arab-Israeli World Movie Review: 'Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World' http://publicradioeast.org/post/movie-review-mad-mad-mad-mad-world Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>If the Olympics aren't your thing, and you're in the mood for a little road trip from the comfort of your couch, NPR's movie critic Bob Mondello has a suggestion. This week, he's looking at a 1963 comedy featuring 47 - count them - 47 comedians. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 21:13:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 34546 at http://publicradioeast.org Movie Review: 'RoboCop,' 'About Last Night,' And 'Endless Love' http://publicradioeast.org/post/movie-review-robocop-about-last-night-and-endless-love Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel. Valentine's Day movie openings are often about love and Bob Mondello says this week's premiers of "RoboCop" and "About Last Night" are about Hollywood's latest crush on the 1980s.<p>BOB MONDELLO, BYLINE: Stop me if you've heard this one - or these two, or even three if you count "Endless Love." '80s movies brought back because, well, because there's fresh cash on the table from a generation that hasn't seen them in theaters. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 21:07:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 34379 at http://publicradioeast.org Plenty Of Heart, Not Much Art In 'Monuments Men' http://publicradioeast.org/post/plenty-heart-not-much-art-monuments-men There's a fascinating tale to be told in <em>The Monuments Men</em>, George Clooney's new film based on the true story of a search for looted art stolen by the Nazis during World War II. In real life, with fighting still raging on the battlefields of Europe, a small team of art experts searched urgently for tens of thousands of missing paintings and sculptures. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 00:16:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 33761 at http://publicradioeast.org Plenty Of Heart, Not Much Art In 'Monuments Men' On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances http://publicradioeast.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-and-his-many-appearances <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzY2pWrXB_0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ_4m2ocxhI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRud1so-Z-M</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 21:27:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 33493 at http://publicradioeast.org On Philip Seymour Hoffman, And His Many Appearances A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud http://publicradioeast.org/post/century-ago-today-chaplin-made-his-film-debut-dud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LoLw4TJKdU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j2K3A1S5ak</p> Sun, 02 Feb 2014 22:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 33416 at http://publicradioeast.org A Century Ago Today, Chaplin Made His Film Debut — In A Dud At Home, With Mom And Her Murderous Beau http://publicradioeast.org/post/home-mom-and-her-murderer-beau So here's the setup: It's 1987. Frank, a convicted murderer, has escaped from a New Hampshire prison, and he's holding Adele, a fragile divorcee, and her 12-year-old son, Henry, captive in their own house until they eat his chili.<p>Turns out it's good chili — so good that it inspires Adele, whom the handsome convict has tied up very gently and tenderly, to reminisce about a conversation she and her son had about his sex education class. Seriously, it's some good chili. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 23:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 33239 at http://publicradioeast.org At Home, With Mom And Her Murderous Beau Movie Reviews: Gloria & Stranger By The Lake http://publicradioeast.org/post/movie-reviews-gloria-stranger-lake Bob Mondello reviews two foreign films about people struggling to make connections: the Chilean drama Gloria, and the French thriller Stranger by the Lake. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 21:56:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 32779 at http://publicradioeast.org Sun And Water, And A Dangerous Brand Of Desire http://publicradioeast.org/post/sun-and-water-and-dangerous-brand-desire <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgcEGKn7waI</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 22:32:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 32705 at http://publicradioeast.org Sun And Water, And A Dangerous Brand Of Desire From An Oscar Winner, A 'Past' Still Hauntingly Present http://publicradioeast.org/post/oscar-winner-past-still-hauntingly-present Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi came to international attention last year when his film <em>A Separation</em> won the Oscar for best foreign language film. His latest picture, <em>The Past,</em> has been showered with awards, too — at the Cannes Film Festival and from critics groups in the U.S. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 22:01:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 30268 at http://publicradioeast.org From An Oscar Winner, A 'Past' Still Hauntingly Present 5 By O'Toole: What To Watch Beyond 'Lawrence Of Arabia' http://publicradioeast.org/post/five-otoole-what-watch-beyond-lawrence-arabia <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTbLkYmWZJo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOWpf7tuCXo</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 17:18:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 29961 at http://publicradioeast.org 5 By O'Toole: What To Watch Beyond 'Lawrence Of Arabia' Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role http://publicradioeast.org/post/peter-otoole-exuberant-lawrence-his-last-role Blond, blue-eyed and wearing blazing white robes in <em>Lawrence Of Arabia</em>, Peter O'Toole was handsome enough — many said beautiful enough — to carry off the scene in which director David Lean simultaneously made stars of both his title character and his leading man.<p>The scene: a wrecked train, blown up by Lawrence and surrounded by his Bedouin followers, one of whom has just smashed a news photographer's camera. O'Toole's Lawrence explains that the man thinks the camera will steal his soul. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 07:59:00 +0000 Bob Mondello 29924 at http://publicradioeast.org Peter O'Toole, Exuberant From 'Lawrence' To His Last Role