Alix Spiegel http://publicradioeast.org en Mind Over Milkshake: How Your Thoughts Fool Your Stomach http://publicradioeast.org/post/mind-over-milkshake-how-your-thoughts-fool-your-stomach <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIfhxt0JCok</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 07:22:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 38849 at http://publicradioeast.org Mind Over Milkshake: How Your Thoughts Fool Your Stomach Play It Again And Again, Sam http://publicradioeast.org/post/play-it-again-and-again-sam <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EH45A6ek45s</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 38340 at http://publicradioeast.org Play It Again And Again, Sam So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent http://publicradioeast.org/post/so-you-think-youre-smarter-cia-agent The morning I met Elaine Rich, she was sitting at the kitchen table of her small town home in suburban Maryland trying to estimate refugee flows in Syria.<p>It wasn't the only question she was considering; there were others:<p>Will North Korea launch a new multistage missile before May 10, 2014?<p>Will Russian armed forces enter Kharkiv, Ukraine, by May 10? Rich's answers to these questions would eventually be evaluated by the intelligence community, but she didn't feel much pressure because this wasn't her full-time gig.<p>"I'm just a pharmacist," she said. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:55:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 37867 at http://publicradioeast.org So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? http://publicradioeast.org/post/good-art-popular-because-its-good-right In July of last year, a man named Sidney Sealine went to see the Mona Lisa in Paris.<p>The idea was to spend some time with the picture, see for himself the special spark that made the painting so famous.<p>But Sealine couldn't even get close.<p>In <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvK8t6DMYlM" target="_blank">his video of the visit</a>, you see people of every race and nationality crowded around the barricades that separate them from the painting. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 08:28:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 35248 at http://publicradioeast.org Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present http://publicradioeast.org/post/when-memories-never-fade-past-can-poison-present On Feb. 21, Alexandra Wolff ate steak, mashed potatoes and broccoli for dinner. Later that night, sitting in her room, she spent 20 minutes scanning pictures in <em>InStyle</em> magazine.<p>She remembers those things, just as she remembers that on Aug. 2 she stopped at Target and bought Raisin Bran; and on April 17 she wore a white button-down shirt; and on Oct. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 22:19:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 30781 at http://publicradioeast.org When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present Why Eastern And Western Cultures Tackle Learning Differently http://publicradioeast.org/post/why-eastern-and-western-cultures-tackle-learning-differently For the most part in American culture, intellectual struggle in school children is seen as an indicator of weakness, while in Eastern cultures it is not only tolerated, it is often used to measure emotional strength. (This piece initially aired on Nov. 12, 2012 on Morning Edition.) Mon, 02 Sep 2013 08:45:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 22393 at http://publicradioeast.org If Your Shrink Is A Bot, How Do You Respond? http://publicradioeast.org/post/if-your-shrink-bot-how-do-you-respond <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejczMs6b1Q4</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 07:04:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 14424 at http://publicradioeast.org If Your Shrink Is A Bot, How Do You Respond? Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family http://publicradioeast.org/post/big-siblings-big-influence-some-behaviors-run-family Patricia East is a developmental psychologist who began her career working at an OB-GYN clinic in California. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 20:07:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 12849 at http://publicradioeast.org Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family Bloston Blasts Reminds Us Of Fragility Of Life http://publicradioeast.org/post/bloston-blasts-reminds-us-fragility-life From the first explosion in Boston on Monday to the second, just 15 seconds elapsed. And in those 15 seconds, three people were mortally wounded, including an 8-year-old boy. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 08:44:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 11887 at http://publicradioeast.org Bloston Blasts Reminds Us Of Fragility Of Life Would Angry Teens Chill Out If They Saw More Happy Faces? http://publicradioeast.org/post/would-angry-teens-chill-out-if-they-saw-more-happy-faces All day long we're surrounded by faces. We see them on the subway sitting two by two, pass them on the sidewalk as we make our way to work, then nod to them in the elevator.<p>But most of those faces don't tell us much about the emotional life of the person behind the face.<p>"People don't just go around the world smiling or grimacing or frowning," says psychologist <a href="http://www.bristol.ac.uk/expsych/people/marcus-r-munafo/index.html">Marcus Munafo</a> of the University of Bristol. Mon, 08 Apr 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 11240 at http://publicradioeast.org Would Angry Teens Chill Out If They Saw More Happy Faces? Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century http://publicradioeast.org/post/mining-books-map-emotions-through-century Were people happier in the 1950s than they are today? Or were they more frustrated, repressed and sad?<p>To find out, you'd have to compare the emotions of one generation to another. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 19:41:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 10718 at http://publicradioeast.org Mining Books To Map Emotions Through A Century New Voices For The Voiceless: Synthetic Speech Gets An Upgrade http://publicradioeast.org/post/new-voices-voiceless-synthetic-speech-gets-upgrade Ever since she was a small child, Samantha Grimaldo has had to carry her voice with her.<p>Grimaldo was born with a rare disorder, Perisylvian syndrome, which means that though she's physically capable in many ways, she's never been able to speak. Instead, she's used a device to speak. She types in what she wants to say, and the device says those words out loud. Mon, 11 Mar 2013 08:41:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 9085 at http://publicradioeast.org New Voices For The Voiceless: Synthetic Speech Gets An Upgrade To Spot Kids Who Will Overcome Poverty, Look At Babies http://publicradioeast.org/post/spot-kids-who-will-overcome-poverty-look-babies Why do some children who grow up in poverty do well, while others struggle?<p>To understand more about this, a group of psychologists recently did a <a href="http://pss.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/01/29/0956797612457381.abstract">study</a>.<p>It began in a small spare room where a series of very poor mothers and their 5-month-old babies came to watch a soothing video. Soothing the baby was the point, says Elisabeth Conradt, a postdoctoral researcher at Brown University's <a href="http://www.brown.edu/Departments/Children_at_Risk/Home.htm">Brown Center for the Study of Children at Risk</a>. Mon, 25 Feb 2013 21:32:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 8057 at http://publicradioeast.org To Spot Kids Who Will Overcome Poverty, Look At Babies Why Even Radiologists Can Miss A Gorilla Hiding In Plain Sight http://publicradioeast.org/post/why-even-radiologists-can-miss-gorilla-hiding-plain-sight <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJG698U2Mvo</p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 08:33:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 6951 at http://publicradioeast.org Why Even Radiologists Can Miss A Gorilla Hiding In Plain Sight No Mercy For Robots: Experiment Tests How Humans Relate To Machines http://publicradioeast.org/post/mercy-robots-experiment-tests-how-humans-relate-machines <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Kf9coMuVuI</p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 08:25:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 5876 at http://publicradioeast.org No Mercy For Robots: Experiment Tests How Humans Relate To Machines Shootings Leave Sandy Hook Survivors Rethinking The Odds http://publicradioeast.org/post/shootings-leave-sandy-hook-survivors-rethinking-odds About a month ago, Declan Procaccini's 10-year-old son woke him early in the morning in a fright.<p>"He came into my bedroom and said, 'Dad, I had a horrible, horrible dream!' " Procaccini says. "He was really shaken up. Fri, 28 Dec 2012 04:02:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 4502 at http://publicradioeast.org Shootings Leave Sandy Hook Survivors Rethinking The Odds Charming, Cold: Does Presidential Personality Matter? http://publicradioeast.org/post/charming-cold-does-presidential-personality-matter <em>As part of NPR's coverage of this year's presidential election, </em>All Things Considered<em> asked three science reporters to weigh in on the race. The result is a three-part series on the science of leadership. In Part 2, Jon Hamilton examined <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/10/24/163561729/in-animal-kingdom-voting-of-a-different-sort-reigns">leadership in the animal kingdom</a>.</em><p>Charming or cold. Flexible or rigid. Paranoid or impulsive or calculating.<p>How important is the personality of a president? Tue, 23 Oct 2012 21:46:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 4361 at http://publicradioeast.org Charming, Cold: Does Presidential Personality Matter? How Politicians Get Away With Dodging The Question http://publicradioeast.org/post/how-politicians-get-away-dodging-question <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPOkpOipBYM</p> Wed, 03 Oct 2012 07:33:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 2781 at http://publicradioeast.org How Politicians Get Away With Dodging The Question Teachers' Expectations Can Influence How Students Perform http://publicradioeast.org/post/teachers-expectations-can-influence-how-students-perform In my <em>Morning Edition</em> story today, I look at expectations — specifically, how teacher expectations can affect the performance of the children they teach.<p>The first psychologist to systematically study this was a Harvard professor named <a href="http://www.psych.ucr.edu/faculty/rosenthal/index.html">Robert Rosenthal</a>, who in 1964 did a <a href="http://books.google.com/books?id=6OQ9fn9il6gC&pg=PA275&lpg=PA275&dq=Flanagan's+Test+of+General+Ability&source=bl&ots=_A5j2I__M3&sig=o-ptexwwjmZnPJI7sCMBlyuOA_M&hl=en#v=onepage&q=Flanagan's%20Test%20of%20General%20Ability&f=false" target="_b Mon, 17 Sep 2012 07:36:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 1485 at http://publicradioeast.org Teachers' Expectations Can Influence How Students Perform